Skip Navigation
Facebook iconTwitter iconWordpress icon

Alabama Regional and Local Government Agencies

Collected by: Alabama State Archives

Archived since: Nov, 2008


This collection is composed of agencies and commissions that have authority over more than one county but generally are not state wide. Most of these are either regional planning commissions or water authorities. There are also efforts that cross state lines, like the Appalachian Regional Commission covering the entire southeast, and the Historic Chattahoochee Commission that works in both Georgia and Alabama. In addition, there are some statewide efforts, such as the County Commissioners of Alabama, the Alabama League of Municipalities, Alabama Farmer's Cooperative, Alabama Coastal Foundation, and the Alabama Humanities Foundations web sites.

Subject:   Regional planning - Alabama Watersheds - Alabama Economic development - Alabama

Page 1 of 1 (1 Total Results)

Title: East Alabama Regional Planning and Development Commission Website


Description: The East Alabama Regional Planning and Development Commission, a public agency established under state enabling legislation, is a voluntary association of the municipal and county governments within the Commission's regional service area. The Commission was created in 1971 through the merger of two existing regional agencies, one based in Anniston and one in Alexander City. Its regional service area comprises ten counties extending northward along the boundary between Alabama and Georgia in the northeast part of the state. This region includes both the Gadsden MSA (Etowah County) and the Anniston MSA (Calhoun County), and 53 of the municipalities in the region are members of the Commission. The Commission is governed by an 97-member Board of Directors which meets monthly. The Board of Directors includes representatives from the municipal and county governments, the chambers of commerce, Jacksonville State University, the community colleges, and the private sector.

Captured 3 times between Apr 06, 2010 and Feb 14, 2011

Subject:   Alabama - Government Alabama - Tourism Alabama - Industrial development Cherokee County (Ala.) Etowah County (Ala.) Calhoun County (Ala.) Cleburne County (Ala.) Talladega County (Ala.) Clay County (Ala.) Coosa County (Ala.) Randolph County (Ala.) Tallapoosa County (Ala.) Chambers County (Ala.)

Page 1 of 1 (1 Total Results)