Skip Navigation
Facebook iconTwitter iconWordpress icon

Alabama State Agencies A - B

Collected by: Alabama State Archives

Archived since: Sep, 2005


This collection contains information about Alabama State Agencies beginning with A and B

Subject:   Government - US States Alabama, government Alabama Politics and government

Page 1 of 1 (1 Total Results)

Title: Historic Chattahoochee Trace | Alabama Historic Areas | Georgia Historic Areas


Description: The Chattahoochee Trace is an eighteen county region in Alabama and Georgia promoted by the Historic Chattahoochee Commission (HCC). Organized in 1970, the HCC is charged with the responsibility of promoting tourism and historic preservation throughout this river corridor. In 1978 the Georgia General Assembly and the Alabama Legislature passed identical legislation to establish an interstate compact for the operation of the Commission. Final approval of the compact came in October of that year when the same bill cleared the U.S. Congress and President Carter signed it into law. Alabama counties include Barbour, Chambers, Dale, Henry, Houston, Lee, and Russell; Georgia counties include Chattahoochee, Clay, Decatur, Early, Harris, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Stewart, and Troup. Presently the Commission is funded by both Alabama and Georgia. The HCC is the first and only tourism/preservation agency in the nation with official authority to cross state lines to pursue goals common to all counties involved. See also Alabama State Agencies G-H

Loading Wayback Capture Info...

Subject:   Historic preservation - Alabama Chattahoochee Trace Historic preservation - Georgia,  Chattahoochee River

Page 1 of 1 (1 Total Results)